Feature Request: Specific Scene Store as a Softkey

I ran into a situation recently where I accidentally recalled a pre-soundcheck scene in the middle of a show. I’ll be the first to say that I should have saved after soundcheck but it was a hectic day, things were moving fast and I forgot.

I use scenes for a lot of functions including quickly dimming console lights. In this case, attempting to dim console lights ended in catastrophe.

So I came out of that with a few lessons, always save after sound check is obvious, I also engaged the confirmation-dialogue-before-recall setting. Still, what I would like is to be able to frequently save a “NOW” scene with the click of one button so in the case of catastrophe in the future I can easily recall a recent state.

Preferably, DLive would automatically and periodically do this in the background the way the S6L does but maybe adding the ability to quickly save to a specific scene with a softkey is easier to build.

The bottom line: DLive has a lot of amazing functionality with its Scene controls that I’d love to use, but if a monkey can’t use that functionality without the potential of catastrophe, it’s not worth it.

I should also note, the reason the wrong scene was selected was because the touch screen scroll was laggy, and the by the time my finger dropped, it had suddenly moved on me. Also, not a great experience but not something to worry about if you have the ability to easily recover.

You can undo the recall next time.

1 Like

As @duplobaustein already pointed out, you can use the “Undo Go” command from the scenes page.

There is a possible Softkey to store a new scene. The next unused scene memory is used.

2 Likes

“Undo GO” is also quickly accessible by combining Reset + GO. I think if I ever needed it I might forget under stress, but at least there is the silk screening by the GO button. That knowledge might help be even if I forget the specific key combination.

As for the “now” scene, I think there internally is something like that. Show files contain a scene numbered 65535 (-1), and somehow if you reboot the system come sup where you left it even if you haven’t stored a scene. I would not be surprised if this internal scene is used by the “Undo Go” feature.

Using the "New Scene softkey could be great in some situations, but if you actually used that very much, and wanted to save the show file, then you would end up with tons of junk scenes. That you would have to delete. One. By. One.

You could use a live scene and update that via soft button.